A decade of my life (2)-Delhi Diary.

So I am back with you all and let me walk you through the Delhi Diary.

I reached Delhi via bus and it was dawn at that time. I still remember that color of sky, which was kind of midnight blue with few twinkling stars. From this day on I fell in love with this time of day and it became my favourite time of the day.

I had no one in Delhi whom I could call as a support but universe has a plan for all of us. While planning my escape I worked at a BPO in my home town. I made few good friends and I called one. Ajit, I addressed him as an elder brother since the beginning. He shared a number of one of his friend who was in Delhi and I immediately dialed that number. May be god was on my side and looking after me, I found shelter for couple of days at Komal’s place.

As I mentioned in my last post,I did make an escape plan. I am grateful to my mother for giving us right to have basic education and that did help me. I found a job on the basis of my 12th standard certificate. I do not want to get sentimental but I remember I called my mother with this good news.

My monthly salary was 5000, I was figuratively jumping from ground to sky with the happiness that I will be able to contribute something to my family financially. I hope it is very obvious to understand as I was about to die. I am glad that my attempts of killing my self did not end in my death while my sobbing, over my first engagement. Yes there is more to it.

I started sending the money to my mother as my first salary was credited in my bank account. All was going fine, my father was not happy initially but in few months his heart also melted and I became the most loved child once again.

I loved my sister a lot and I wanted a good life for her. I was proud of me to be the one who was above 18 and still not married because that way no one will ever talk about her marriage with any one, unless I get married. Sometimes you get to play with the society rules and those are the only times when social rules are beneficial for us. I am elder to her and in here, that matters. So she is saved, I am out of sight and society was fine with us.

I slowly realized that it won’t help any one much if I stick with a 5k monthly salary, so as I got 6 months completed in Delhi, I started looking for some raise in my salary.

This first job helped me a lot to gain confidence and experience to live in this city which is more practice than the one I dreamt of.

I did find another job and was able to contribute 10k instead of 2. Can you imagine my happiness. I did not tell my mother about it until I transfered it to her account. I get tears even today when I think of that.

Till this time, all my attention was on making money and completing my graduation. That engagement did not give me any positive results, I was not allowed to continue my studies because my fiance never saw the face of school.

In india there is a rule by society ,if a woman is more educated that her husband, she won’t respect him. So girls are restricted sometimes from studies as their education gets completed. They should be able to calculate grocery expenses and that all.

Based on that society rule, I was not allowed to study anymore. No one thought about it once, that I started working just after my 12th, may be I deserve their support. So I left and when everyone was okay with me I went back home and got admission in B.Com in a”girl’s college”. It was via correspondence, so I continued my job in Delhi.

Published by Transient_Mahi

Hello Everyone, If you are on this channel, you are looking for some information about cats and their mysterious behavior. I am will share all my habits, likes, quirks here and I hope that helps you to get closer to your #feline . You can follow me on Instagram Also- https://www.instagram.com/reel/Cd7harYog0q/?igshid=YmMyMTA2M2Y=

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started